Skip to Navigation Youtube Instagram

" If the world is a tree,

we are the blossoms "

Novalis

Pilgrimage ~ A Journey To Love Island

April 20th, 2018

In the summer of 1990 Jay Ramsay set out on pilgrimage with an interfaith group from London to Iona. The result is his most ambitious book-length poem, an astonishing tour de force in the tradition of Wordsworth and Chaucer. Epiphanic, conversational, meditational, psychological, political, it divines ‘the cross’ of spiritual and ecological being in Britain’s radical tradition, as symbolised by Iona as the crown of the Celtic church and the direction that Christianity lost. Constructed as a series of 25 ‘days’, the narrative builds symphonically like waves of the sea up to its visionary climax. Full of stories, reflections, memories, and images, Pilgrimage is above all a love poem, an invitation into the greater love that is our true becoming where we can find the God most personal to all of us – alive in the heart of Life.

Pilgrimage is an important outpouring from one of Britain’s leading poets wrestling with the Christ story, the human story, and the story of where we need to go as a species. Travelling with Jay is never anything less than a journey into the past, with adventures in the present, and visions of hope for the future.’  Martin Palmer

‘It is strange and beautiful how everything he passes comes into colour, into focus – is born. And I ran along after him and listened as he changed the colour of the sea and broke down doors.’  Peter Owen Jones

Pilgrimage is published by Awen Publications

One Response to “Pilgrimage ~ A Journey To Love Island”

  1. Morning all, in 1978 I went, by car with a group, to Iona. We all lived in Glastonbury. After an exhausting two day journey, we settled down for the night, before embarking across to the island. I was entranced by the energy, did not want to speak to anyone else. When walking across the grass, I encountered a friar, who nodded to me in response to my silent greeting, then disappeared! This is clear to me now as it was then. Love to all, Margaret.

Comments are closed.